- General Information
- College Information
Certificate of Residence
Both full- and part-time students who are qualified residents of New York State must submit to the College at the time of payment, a Certificate of Residence obtained from the chief fiscal officer or County Treasurer of their county or counties of legal residence. Education law defines a “resident” in this instance as a person who has been a legal resident of the State of New York for a period of at least one year and of one or more counties for a period of at least six months, both immediately preceding the date of registration.
A Certificate of Residence is good for one calendar year and must be obtained annually. A Certificate of Residence may be obtained no more than 60 days prior to the start of classes and up to 30 days after the start of classes. Applications for residence certificates are mailed to the student by the College with their bills. Copies may also be obtained from the College Student Accounts Office. Students failing to submit an appropriate residence certificate must pay double tuition rates as “non-residents.” No Certificate of Residence will be accepted by the College after the 31st day from the start of classes.